View Single Post
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 01, 2013, 12:51pm
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Rules are pretty clear that all bases must be touched in legal order, including awarded bases. I see nothing in the rules that would indicate a missed base can be considered to have been touched if obstruction were the reason it was missed.
What follows is obviously taking this to the nth degree, but saying it so we can work back. This incorporates two of the recent "but what rule covers this" conversations.

Assume Team A is leading by one run with bases loaded (R3 on 3rd, R4 on 2nd, R5 on 1st,and two outs in final inning; playing defense. Batter singles, so F6 literally lays on top of 2nd base, while F4 blocks R3 off of the base, and, using her best flag football blocking technique, guides her around 2nd base, past the base. As the ball comes back in, F6 takes the throw, and makes a live ball appeal that R5 missed the base, and that no run can score, because this is a force play.

So, the runner has passed the base while obstructed (and not protected from missing the base, say some), and the obstruction initially occurred prior to the base, so not protected between 2nd and 3rd, according to some. While this is obviously unsporting, the penalty (choose your ruleset, restriction/disqualified/ejection) wouldn't make the runner safe.

All of this is "covered" in the rules, so you cannot apply "not specifically covered". This isn't a "penalty", so even the (now-MIA in ASA) "will not penalize .... for any infraction ... when imposing the penalty would be an advantage to the offending team" wouldn't exactly apply.

We also have a rule that clearly states the "intent" of the obstruction rule; to negate any advantage gained by the defense in impeding the offense from free and clear opportunity to run the bases.

So, maybe I can't tell you what exact clause/phrase/interpretation I am using, but NO WAY IN HELL am I calling that runner out. I am awarding the missed 2nd base on the obstruction, I am protecting both before and after, and if some jackleg wants to protest, and anyone wants to uphold that protest, it won't be me.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote