View Single Post
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 01, 2013, 12:05pm
MD Longhorn MD Longhorn is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Rules are pretty clear that all bases must be touched in legal order, including awarded bases. I see nothing in the rules that would indicate a missed base can be considered to have been touched if obstruction were the reason it was missed.
It's an interpretation. If you don't ignore a miss that is caused by an obstruction then you get into odd awarding of bases that were already achieved. Example:

Runner on 2nd is going to score on double to the outfield. F5 is camped on the base or otherwise physically prevents the runner from touching 3rd. Runner then scores easily anyway.

If you don't accept the interpretation that a miss caused by obstruction, then you end up with the rather absurd situation that you have to award home on the obstruction and the girl has to go touch home, then third, then home.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote