View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 01, 2013, 09:40am
BretMan BretMan is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Rules are pretty clear that all bases must be touched in legal order, including awarded bases. I see nothing in the rules that would indicate a missed base can be considered to have been touched if obstruction were the reason it was missed.
I know that in some baseball rule sets an obstructed runner who misses a base because of the obstruction can't be called out for missing the base. I think that is also the case with NCAA softball.

As far as ASA, my only dim memory is that they covered this on their website (Plays and Clarifications), maybe last year?

**EDIT: This is probably what I was thinking of. Close, but not the same situation. But if a runner can be "excused" for passing another runner, if the pass was due to an obstruction, then why not the same exception if an obstruction causes a missed base?

PLAY: With one out, R1 on 2B and R2 on 1B, B4 hits an extra base hit to the outfield. R1 rounds 3B and is obstructed and knocked down. R2 accidently passes R1 as R1 is lying on the ground. The ball is returned to the infield and R1 is tagged out. What is the call?
RULING: When R1 was obstructed between 2B and 3B, the base umpire should signal and call “obstruction.” (Rule 8, Section 5B) The umpire should then rule R2 out when R2 passed R1 with the ball remaining live. (Rule 8, Section 7D EFFECT) When R1 is tagged out between the two bases where the obstruction occurred, the umpire should call “time” and award R1 and all other runners the base or bases they would have reached, had there been no obstruction. (Rule 8, Section 5B[ 2] & [4] EFFECT) This would nullify the out on R2 and both R1 and R2 would be awarded the bases they would have reached had there been no obstruction. In this play, that base appears to be home.

Last edited by BretMan; Tue Oct 01, 2013 at 09:58am.
Reply With Quote