View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 25, 2013, 04:10am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
For high school, NCAA and FIBA if you know

Say Player A goes out. Then there is a loose ball or a pass back to A. Can A jump from out of bounds and catch the ball in air and then land inbound? A is not touching out of bounds when touching the ball.

2. Does it make any difference if A it is an inbounds play. So A passes it in. The ball somehow gets knocked around, or someone passes back to A, can A jump in and catch it in air and then land inbounds.
I can only speak for NFHS, but am confident the NCAA and FIBA rules are similar.

1. Illegal, out of bounds violation

2. Illegal, out of bounds violation

Referencing 4-35 on player location. (The location of airborne players is where they were last in contact with the floor, or out of bounds objects). Case book 4.35.2

In both cases the player must establish location inbounds before touching the ball legally. All that is required is one foot inbounds, provided the other foot is not out of bounds.
Reply With Quote