Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
So what you are saying is that if F3 sets up just in front of the base at the last moment with BR rounding the base, and to avoid contact the BR swerves last minute, barely touches the base, and needs 5-6 steps after the base to regain solid footing, that you AREN'T protecting after first base, too? If that BR never regains balance, does a face plant 7-8 strides toward second, you have them tagged out and unprotected?
|
You award based upon what the runner would have achieved had there been no obstruction. So in your example, I would protect the runner to second base because the runner likely would have achieved second minus the obstruction.
But where the rule states that a runner may not be put out between the bases where the obstruction took place, and the obstruction took place before the runner reached a base, where does it say that the hindrance may continue until such time as the runner regains full speed running?
Take this routine play: BR has to slow down on her approach to first on a base hit in the outfield because F3 is standing short of the bag. Likely, the BR won't regain her full speed until after the base, and she tries to stretch the hit into a double when she sees F8 bobble the ball. But F8 has a gun and throws her out by some 15-20 feet. Are we really to send the BR back to first base?
Again, I simply stated that I've never heard anyone say that it's acceptable to extend a runner's protection from between two previous bases to between two subsequent bases. If that's the case, then we'll have to keep our eyes on the runner to gauge when she regains her full speed.