Quote:
Originally Posted by jicecone
I agree Lawrie started from first so technically he is R1.
This was not a force play so Reyes was legally entitled to 3B (7.01 A runner acquires the right to an unoccupied base when he touches it before he is out. He is then entitled to it until he is put out, or forced to vacate it for another runner legally entitled to that base.) not Lawrie.
7.03 (a) Two runners may not occupy a base, but if, while the ball is alive, two runners are touching a base, the following runner shall be out when tagged and the preceding runner is entitled to the base, unless Rule 7.03(b) applies.
Now Lawrie and Reyes were not on the bag at the same time and Lawrie was not legally entitled to be there because Reyes was not yet "put out, or forced to vacate it for another runner legally entitled to that base". Had the fielder tagged Reyes first then Lawrie, Lawrie would have been safe.
Now either I did a bad job of explaining myself or I am totally reading something different than what the rules say and I am certainly open for correction.
|
So, earlier, while Reyes was further from 3B in the rundown and not yet scored, the defense could have quit playing on Reyes and tagged Lowrie while he was on 3B for an out?
Do we now have to check if a preceding runner has acquired the next base before we rule a following runner safe on the bag as he beats a tag?