View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 08, 2013, 09:25pm
JKinATL29 JKinATL29 is offline
Touchdown Celtics
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gr8fuldiver View Post
1. If the runner is initially down inbounds very close to the line and winds up out of bounds , and I deem his forward motion was NOT stopped before he was down, what and how do I signal (both first down and others please)?

2. If the runner is forced out of bounds before he is down or runs out on his own, what and how do I signal (both first down and others please)?

3. If I deem the runners forward momentum has stopped BEFORE he is out of bounds (I.E. he has stopped moving forward and is pushed backwards out of bounds), what and how do I signal (both first down and others please)? I think I have this one....wouldn't you wind the clock then stop it because he went out of bounds?
1. You have him down inbounds...wind the clock to communicate this to your crew and coaches (at least the ones paying attention). If he isn't past the line to gain, no other signal is needed. If it is a first down, follow the winding signal by stopping the clock. This signifies that the clock is stopped only for the first down and will roll again on the RFP. You will also want to verbally (or otherwise, discuss during pregame) explain this to the R as he is preparing to blow the RFP.

2. You have him out of bounds...simply stop the clock. The clock will not start until the snap, first down or not.

3. If you have ruled his forward progress to be down inbounds, same as #1.
__________________
There's always room to improve.
----------
Note: Posts reflect my personal opinion only and are not shared by any association of which I may be a member.
Reply With Quote