View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 28, 2013, 09:31pm
Rich's Avatar
Rich Rich is offline
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
That is not how we were instructed if the action that removed the helmet and the player continued to finish the block or the tackle and all of this was legal. Now that is what our state said. I believe the same ruling is the case for NCAA games. That is why I am unclear if this was all in a second action. It was unclear to me if B90 was involved in the tackle or was that a second act or hit.

Peace
I agree that both players can finish their current engagement / action when a helmet comes off IF the A player is not the runner. On this play, the A player is the runner, which changes everything.

If A is the runner and the helmet comes off, the officials should be blowing the play dead immediately. That's been the rule for a long time. That turns any foul by B into a dead ball foul. Can't be a double foul, then.
Reply With Quote