View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 28, 2013, 09:23pm
JRutledge JRutledge is offline
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
This can't be a double foul. The ball is dead immediately when the runner's helmet comes completely off.



I'm reading it as if it's not.

Since the ball's dead when A's helmet comes off, at the worst I'm probably thinking delay of game on the runner for continuing after the play is over. Not illegal participation unless there's instructions to the contrary. He can't participate further in the play - the play is over.

The foul on B would have to be a DBPF for UNR.

Likely we'd only have a foul on B, nothing on A.
That is not how we were instructed if the action that removed the helmet and the player continued to finish the block or the tackle and all of this was legal. Now that is what our state said. I believe the same ruling is the case for NCAA games. That is why I am unclear if this was all in a second action. It was unclear to me if B90 was involved in the tackle or was that a second act or hit.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote