Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
If you tell them spot, that should tell them it is a spot throw-in and they cannot run the line. What they don't know after that is not our concern.
I agree this is splitting hairs.
|
Well isn't "spot" not a complete description of the rule? After all it is a "Designated Spot" not a "Spot" throw-in. And if you tell them spot, do they know what that means?
That is why it is spitting hairs because when you tell them "Don't move" they know they do not have the ability to "run." I consider most of this considerably shallow and silly. And I would not care either way if it works for someone to communicate to a player or coach.
Peace