Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn
Um, no. "land" does not mean "hit the ground" (see def of fair ball and foul ball --- a batted ball which ... is first touched...)
|
Ummm, land does mean to hit the ground in ordinary usage. I mean it means to alight on a surface. And I suppose the ball could land on a surface other then the ground and meet the requirements of this rule. But a caught ball certainly has not landed as to the ordinary use of that word. Further it's not defined in the rulebook.
The rule for batted ball should say is first touched or first contacts something. But we all do know how to call this one with or without the mistake right?