View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 30, 2013, 12:02am
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
LGP really doesn't apply here. If it did fouls could never be called in favor of players with inside rebounding position since they'd never be facing their opponent.

I have the contact taking place just before A1 gets control of the ball. I also have the contact as incidental.
I partially agree with you. But LGP is required if the other player has the ball. I judged the outside player to have already caught the ball. That means LGP is required.

Aside from that, inside players can still get calls in their favor without LGP since they're not guarding when the ball is still being rebounded. However, they still can't jump back into the player behind any more than the player behind can jump forward into them.

In this case, I see both players jumping towards each other with the outer player jumping first and getting to the ball first.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote