View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 28, 2013, 02:47am
just another ref just another ref is offline
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
Case Book 4.15.4 A, supports the concept that the violation occurs as soon as the ball is pushed to the floor, with no reference to subsequent touching by the ballhandler.
yep


Quote:
Case Book 4.15.4 C, supports the concept that the violation occurs when (because) the ballhandler is first to touch the ball.
This case deals with throwing the ball off the opponent's backboard or an official, not pushing it to the floor.

Quote:
Case Book 4.15.4 D, (c) and (d), seem to equate catching the ball with fumbling the ball. And that seems to be consistent with Rule Book 9-5-3, and Case Book 9.5 (b) and (c).
A fumble can occur at any time, but read the definition of a fumble. It includes the phrase "loss of player control". A dribble cannot occur when a player is not in control.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote