Answers for consideration:
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
Hand up to hold pitch, is it an actual time out?
|
Yes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
If so, why one hand and no verbal?
|
Quicker; keeps the batter in the "getting ready" mode rather than "time out" mode. I don't use this mechanic much; usually it will only be because the batter is not ready, especially if she is not looking at the pitcher and the pitcher looks like she might be about to start her windup.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
If so, may a runner leave a base?
|
No. I know this conflicts with my answer to the first question.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
If not, what rule prevents the pitcher from pitching, other than a no-pitch for everyone not being set?
|
Don't understand the question. Are you asking what stops the pitcher from pitching through the stop sign?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy
To add to this question: Are we still counting the time we have the hand up to the pitcher against the ten seconds that batter has to get in the box and set?
|
Yes, if the delay is due to the batter not being ready. (I know this violates my answer to the first question, at least technically.)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy
Are we counting this time against the twenty seconds the pitcher has to pitch once they receive the ball back?
|
No.
No rule cites for any of the above.