Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara
To properly appeal the force play, the ball must be made live again. I don't many umpires that are going to put a ball back into play after a walk-off situation. Therefore, you have to declare the runner has abandoned the base to get an out here.
|
Sorry, but you're not addressing my concern. This has nothing to do with an appeal.
The MLBUM play that umpjim quoted has R1 failing to go to second base on an apparent walk-off grand slam with two outs. R1 is declared out for abandonment for the third out. The ruling on the play said that since the abandonment declaration happened before R3 touched home, R3's run doesn't count.
Seems to me it shouldn't matter if the abandonment declaration happens before or after R3 touches home. The result of the call is what amounts to a force out, so when R3 touches is immaterial. Or so I thought. The MLBUM ruling makes it sound like this is a timing play.