View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 09, 2013, 07:13pm
David Emerling David Emerling is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Germantown, TN (east of Memphis)
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
I think (actually I know) that MLB ruled that the umpires should've called Segura out for the 7.01 violation. Jayson Stark column described it pretty well, if you can find it.
Thanks for that information. I found Jayson Stark's column and it states that Segura's actions were LEGAL.

Baserunning adventures of Milwaukee Brewers shortstop Jean Segura - ESPN

Did MLB officially say that Segura should've been called out for a 7.01 rule violation?

When the pitcher was in the "pitching position", Segura actually was advancing to 3rd, not running backwards. Only subsequently, in the course of playing action, did he end up going back to 1st. Which was legally unoccupied.

Are you sure MLB declared this illegal and that the umpires ruled improperly?
Reply With Quote