View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 21, 2013, 11:48am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsnalex View Post
Had this last night, simple ground ball was thrown from F6 to F1, but F1 had glove way off line and ball pegged 1B coach. Coach went down with injury. I immediately called dead ballandawarded runners 2 bases from throw, assuming the ball would have gone dead if coach was not there ( no-one backed up the throw). BR ended on 2B, R1 ended on third.

Afterr consulting the rulebook after the game (ISF) I note 8.10.p

The runner is not out when a coach unintentionally interferes with a thrown ball or batted fair ball while in the coaches box

Only problem is, that rule is merely a classification that runner is not out and coach is not ejected. It doesn't give any effect.

Anyone know if I got this one right?
You have a rule directing you to kill the ball and award bases? If not, and I suspect you do not, it should have been......nothing. Coach hit with a thrown ball with not intent to INT is just a bad throw bouncing off personnel permitted to be where s/he was.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote