View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 19, 2013, 10:38am
MD Longhorn MD Longhorn is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidOhsie View Post
OK, now I'm more confused .

I understand that the rule only talks about the last inning, but is that the only time it applies? So if there is a 2-out bases loaded walk in the bottom of the first where R1 and R2 fail to advance, then the run doesn't score (if there is an appeal), but if the same happens in the bottom of the ninth, then the run does score (if there is an appeal)?
The rule you referenced is an exception to the norm due to the inning ending before it normally would (which can only happen in the home at bat of a final inning)... So yes, the exception can only apply in the home half of a final inning.

Can you imagine it ever actually happening that a 2-out bases loaded walk in any other situation would result in the runner from 1st or 2nd leaving the field? No - they go to their bases and we keep playing. Why would they leave?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote