View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 13, 2013, 09:24am
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,820
The separate rules point out the difference, although the string theory applies to both.

8.1-E(5). It is runner interference even if it contacts the runner after passing a fielder and another fielder has the opportunity to make an out.

8.1-E(7). It is umpire interference ONLY if it contacts the umpire before passing a fielder other than the pitcher. Other fielders are not a factor; only if it has passed one fielder.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote