Thread: Time Play
View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 11, 2013, 10:35am
umpjim umpjim is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
It is true (all codes). The D can still play on the B/R before he reaches 1st base, even after the third out.
I think MD Longhorn is correct now. The BRD referenced Hopkins, Fetchiet and Fitzpatrick in 2001 as agreeing to the interp which as you and Childress say, doesn't make sense.
My 2012 Wendelstedt Umpire manual reverses that interp and does not allow the BR to be put out if the defense played on somebody else for the third out. They say the defense had the opportunity to make the third at 1B out and was not vigilant.

Does MD Longhorn have other cites for this?
Reply With Quote