Quote:
Originally Posted by bellnier
No. It is NOT obvious. In each case the player has already made his attempt and missed. His opportunity to score 2 or 3 points, depending on his location on the court, was NOT changed by the foul AFTER the shot was released. The FTs are awarded because a shooter in the air must be protected. He is equally vulnerable in both cases, but the award is different.
|
The FTs were awarded because A1 was fouled by B1 while A1 was, by definition in the Act of Shooting. In the scenario you described A1 was fouled by B1 after A1 had released the ball but was still airborne.
Consider the following play: A1 is attempting a Set Shot (insert Red Koltzman joke here) and is fouled by B1 before A1 releases the ball from a point a) inside the Three-point Arc, or b) outside the Three-point Arc. A1's attempt in both (a) and (b) is unsuccessful. How many FTs is A1 awarded? Two for (a) and three for (b).
My play is no different from your play because in both plays A1 is fouled in the Act of Shooting.
MTD, Sr.
P.S. JR's first post is a valid reason for the rule as written. Furthermore, I do not feel like climbing up into the attic (at this time of night: almost 12:4amEDT) but if my memory serves me correctly, the first year the Three-point FG was in effect in both NFHS and NCAA the penalty section was not amended to award three FTs when A1 was fouled attempting an unsuccessful Three-point FG.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Wed Jun 05, 2013 at 11:39pm.
Reason: Added P.S.
|