Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
I meant all parties involved in a single game (coaches, players, officials) on the same page.
|
When does that ever happen?
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
A bobble does not end the act of shooting for an airborne shooter.
If the contact was after the bobble he would still get two shots.
4-41-4: The try ends when......it is certain the throw is unsuccessful.
If it doesn't get touched again, the throw in the OP is unsuccessful. And if you say for some reason that this doesn't apply in this case, why would it change if the ball hit the board, or even the rim?
|
Well most rules have an interpretation from an official body suggesting how rules in unusual situations should be officiated. Now if you have an interpretation that supports your point of view, then so be it. But you don't have one so we could debate this aspect all day, but it is not going to change anything. Call it how you see it, but to me this is part of the shot and would count at both the NCAA or NF levels that I work. I cannot imagine calling it any other way.
Peace