View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 02, 2013, 03:24pm
Dholloway1962 Dholloway1962 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
First play, line drive to CF. CF appears to catch the ball (very close), but it is ruled no catch. Throw comes in to 1B (who is touching 1b on the catch). Batter-Runner has reached first base, but then steps off 1b back towards home plate/dugout. No tag is applied and she then takes the step back onto 1b. Umps ruled no catch, and no out at 1b.

My take on this, using ASA's rules (not NCAA since I don't have that book), is that since she had touched 1b, she is now a runner, not a batter-runner. Since no tag was applied, there is no out.

Florida's coach came out arguing that she should have been out (the announcers seemed to think it was because of what happened at 1b, but I think it was the catch-no catch.
So, should the batter-runner have been called out for abandoning first base?
Reply With Quote