Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Not according to the NBA website:
NBA.com - NBA’s Misunderstood Rules
If a player has one foot on the floor or lands with one foot first to the floor, he may only pivot with that foot. Once that foot is lifted from the floor to shoot or pass it may not return until the ball is released. If a player jumps off one foot on the count of one he may land with both feet simultaneously for count two. He caught the dribble with one foot on the floor in front of the 3-point line. He stepped back with the other foot and then back for another step with the first foot.
That, according to the NBA rule, is indeed a travel.
|
The pivot foot is the left foot on this play. He caught the ball with the right foot on the floor...step one is the one made by the left foot as it happened after he gained control of the ball. He then stepped with the right back. This is the second step and made the left foot the pivot foot.
Another thing, that website is old...it uses old language that the rule book does not use anymore. The rule I quoted is from the current rule book. What you've quoted is referencing language from 2008 I believe (and even then, I don't believe this would have been a violation back then either).
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.
Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.
|