View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2013, 01:34pm
dvboa dvboa is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT View Post
New situation. What if I am holding the ball and it gets knocked out of my hands. I go t get it and fumble it into the back court and get it again. Is that a violation?
NFHS Rule Definitions
4-4-2 - A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the frontcourt if neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt.

By touching the ball in the frontcourt - by rule - would give you frontcourt status so by going into the backcourt to retrieve it would be a backcourt violation.

Team control existed when you had the ball in the frontcourt and continued during your interrupted dribble/fumble.

(edit thanks to Nevada) : )

Last edited by dvboa; Mon May 13, 2013 at 11:32pm.
Reply With Quote