View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 09, 2013, 06:01pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by RangeGunner View Post
Basically, I was on the bench and approached him at half time. I did think he made the wrong call and then I usually research it. If I am wrong, I apologize and move on. I've played at the college level and I have never heard of this protecting yourself (other than covering your lower region). "In fact, the defender may turn, duck, step away" - I can duck and undercut him and he can be called for a charge????? This is completely foreign to me.

There is a lot of inconsistency in rect leagues. I got called for a carry because "after" my last dribble, I carried the ball over my head.
Since you asked nicely and seem as if you truly wish to understand, here are the relevant HS and NCAA rule citations:
NFHS 4-23-3 . . After the initial legal guarding position is obtained:
a. The guard may have one or both feet on the playing court or be airborne,
provided he/she has inbound status.
b. The guard is not required to continue facing the opponent.
c. The guard may move laterally or obliquely to maintain position, provided it
is not toward the opponent when contact occurs.
d. The guard may raise hands or jump within his/her own vertical plane.
e. The guard may turn or duck to absorb the shock of imminent contact.

NCAA 4-35-6
. To maintain a legal guarding position after the initial position has been attained, the guard:
a. Is not required to continue having the torso face the opponent;
b. Is required to have either one foot or both feet on the playing court (cannot be out of bounds);
c. May raise the hands or may jump within his or her own vertical plane;
d. May shift to maintain guarding position in the path of the dribbler, provided that the guard does not charge into the dribbler or otherwise cause contact;
e. May move laterally or obliquely to maintain position provided such a move is not toward the opponent when contact occurs;
f. Is not required to have the feet on the playing court when shifting in the path of the dribbler or when moving laterally or obliquely; and
g. May turn or duck to absorb shock when contact by the dribbler is imminent. In such a case, the dribbler shall not be absolved from the responsibility of contact.
Reply With Quote