View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 06, 2013, 03:56pm
Rita C Rita C is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Not completely true. Had this come up just this weekend and had to show it to other umpires in the book. They can move the foot backward but it must remain in contact with the pitching plate. This differs from NFHS where you can take a full blown step backward.
How do you get that?

8.01(b) Both feet must be on the ground within or partially within the 24-inch length of the pitcher’s plate. INSTRUCTOR COMMENTS:
Whether the pitcher chooses to have only the pivot foot or both feet in contact with the pitcher’s plate, the non-pivot foot
may not extend beyond the limit of the pitcher’s plate (toward first base or toward third base).

8.01(g) A backward step may be taken before or simultaneous with the hands being brought together. The pivot foot must remain
in contact with the pitching plate at all times prior to the forward step.

There is nothing that says both feet must be in contact with the plate.

Rita
Reply With Quote