View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 05, 2013, 05:16pm
JetMetFan JetMetFan is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
According to most, the whistle is not what causes the ball to be dead on a timeout request. If an airborne player makes a request and lands out of bounds before the whistle, does he get the timeout?

I have said before that an editorial revision is needed here. This thread was to help make that case.
NFHS Rule 5-8-1

Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official:

Signals:
a. A foul.
b. A held ball.
c. A violation.
d. A time-out.


NFHS Officials' Manual

2.4.4 Time-outs:
B. Reporting procedures:
1. Sound the whistle while giving the clock-stopping signal

We're supposed to do both - blow our whistle and signal - when granting a time out. The whistle, according to rule 6-7-5, causes the ball to become dead other than in the exceptions laid out in Rule 6-7. One of those exceptions is when a try is in flight.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote