Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
According to most, the whistle is not what causes the ball to be dead on a timeout request. If an airborne player makes a request and lands out of bounds before the whistle, does he get the timeout?
I have said before that an editorial revision is needed here. This thread was to help make that case.
|
NFHS Rule 5-8-1
Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official:
Signals:
a. A foul.
b. A held ball.
c. A violation.
d. A time-out.
NFHS Officials' Manual
2.4.4 Time-outs:
B. Reporting procedures:
1.
Sound the whistle while giving the clock-stopping signal
We're supposed to do both - blow our whistle and signal - when granting a time out. The whistle, according to rule 6-7-5, causes the ball to become dead other than in the exceptions laid out in Rule 6-7. One of those exceptions is when a try is in flight.