View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 27, 2003, 02:48pm
David B David B is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Originally posted by insatty
or an absolute mechanical no-no?
I don't really think that there is such a thing as an "absolute" no no; however, if PU thought that the BU has a very good angle to ask is not bad.

Many umpires will say that's my call and I've got to make it, but by not making the call and quickly asking for help he did not interfere with play just in case there might be a subsequent throw etc.,

We are seeing this more and more even in MLB where there is pressure on them to ask for help on different situations.

I would say its better to get the play right. However, PU if he was hustling should have been able to see the tag.

I would probably not ask for help unless I'm pretty sure that he tagged him and I didn't see it.


Reply With Quote