View Single Post
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 23, 2013, 11:25am
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
No internet for five days, other than my phone. This thread comes at this question from a slightly different angle than others. The calling official gives a signal which he immediately realizes is a mistake and would like to change. Picture this: I anticipate a block, then the defender gets in position quicker than I thought possible, resulting in a clear charge. I see the play, but my hands don't get the memo in time. I mistakenly signal the block preliminary, then immediately realize the error. I go to the table and report the charge. All this is okay, unless there was a double whistle and my partner gave the charge signal all the way, in which case we must report a double foul?

I would like to know the intent and purpose of this rule.
I have no problem going with a charge in this situation since the "calling" official's intent was to call a charge and he gave an incorrect signal.

In the Blarge scenario you are always arguing about, there is no mistaken signal given. One officials sees a charge, the other sees a block. In NCAA-W by rule you go with PCA. In NFHS, NBA, and NCAA-M you go with a double foul.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote