View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 18, 2013, 07:57pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
This is a serious question. Where is it a violation to cause the ball to violate the inbounds air space. I'm honestly trying to find the rule that makes this a violation. If it's not a throw in pass, what rule has the thrower violated?
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Breaking the inbounds plane during a throw in is not against the rules. Where do you get the notion you're espousing here?
NFHS 7-5-7 a. Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or he/she may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundary.

If the thrower doesn't pass the ball outside of the boundary plane to a teammate as in the above rule, then it must be a throw-in pass once it breaks the boundary plane and is subject to the rules and restrictions cited by Rob in post #14.
Reply With Quote