Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Just for you, Billy, I went and researched this. I remembered learning GT as having to be outside of the imaginary cylinder when I began officiating.
Sure enough, the definition of goaltending did contain this requirement through the 2003-04 season. For some unknown reason the rule was edited without comment or announcement for the 2004-05 season and that part of the definition was dropped.
We can now have a debate about whether the former NFHS editor changed the rule with the new/current text or if it was just an oversight and the old language still applies.
|
Not sure it matter much as it remains a violation even if they overlap. FOr them to overlap, it can only be a try since GT is only on a try...so all the non-try cases can only be BI.
The only point where it really makes a difference is if it is on a FT. And that may be the reason it changed. Was it changed at the same time as the penalty for interfering with a FT was changed? BI on a FT used to be a T but was changed to a violation leaving only GT a FT as a T. That change made sense given that it really wouldn't be fair to get a T for rebounding a FT just a bit early but interfering with it before it hits does deserve a T. The change in wording on the definition of GT would keep interfering with a FT as GT until it hit.