Thread: Balk question
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 15, 2013, 01:44pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by khumbert45 View Post
Do you happen to know where in the rules or casebook it references this? I just want to have some backup to this when I talk to the coaches that I work with. I know that you are able to come to balance, then wheel around to 2nd base to attempt a pickoff there.
NCAA covers it best, but I don't know that this will help you convince a coach:

(1) The pitcher, while touching the pitcher's rubber, must step toward the base, preceding or simultaneous with any move toward that base. The pitcher is committed, upon raising the lead leg, to throw to the base being faced, to second base or to the plate. When throwing or feinting a throw to a base not being faced, the pitcher must step immediately, directly and gain ground toward that base.
Reply With Quote