Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn
R1 on first, no outs. Batter hits to left field. R1 rounds second large, but decides not to go. BR doesn't see R1 return and is also heading for 2nd.
R1 is obstructed by the SS returning to the base. Throw comes into 2nd base ahead of R1 (or R2 for that matter), R1 takes 3 steps toward 3rd, ball is thrown to F5. As the ball is thrown, BR continues to 2nd base. R1 returns toward 2nd, BR stays there. F5 throws to F4 as R1 slides in safely. F4 then tags BR.
Ruling?
|
IMO, people are overthinking this. This is a no brainer.
R1 ELECTED not to advance toward 3B and was not obstructed attempting to advance toward 3B. Awarding R1 anything other than 2B is not justified. Really don't care how many steps she takes toward anywhere, R1 owns 2B.
R1 was not put out, so there is no reason to kill the ball until all other play is complete