Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Btw, JetMet, don't know if you can edit your title screen in the clip, but it says "Lousiville".
|
Hate it when I do that, especially since my regular paycheck depends, in part, on proper spelling.
It's changed. That would've haunted me to no end.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Surprised that no one has yet commented on a few aspects of this play.
1. The crew is rotating. The C is becoming the new T and the Lead has just come strong-side.
So who has a good angle? I believe that the new T picks a poor spot to stand from which to officiate this double team. She get straight lined. The Lead actually has an open look as can be seen in the video. Would have taken guts to come get this from that distance, but would have been a crew saver. Don't think that the new C has any look to help.
2. By not blowing the whistle either for a foul or after to stop play with an injured player down (this definitely should have been done) allowed UConn a 5 v 4 "power play". They scored a basket, then play was stopped for the review. Unfortunately, the rules don't permit this basket to be cancelled when the monitor review shows that an FF1 or FF2 occurred. That is an injustice.
|
I noticed #1 but obviously didn't comment earlier. It would've been tough for the L to come get that 25-30 feet from the hoop, especially since your partner who is standing there just let it go. L has a clear look and she doesn't have any post play in front of her but her next action area is going to be the post where she just came from.
Here's another issue: If the L calls that as a FF1 and they go to the monitor - which they would to make sure it wasn't a FF2 - and they figure out there
wasn't any contact, they can't cancel the call. Given the way the rule is written it's better to let things play out and check at the next dead ball.
As for #2, it could be argued that UConn never stopped advancing the ball and the
Louisville (see, I know how to spell) player wasn't in danger.