View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 09, 2013, 08:06am
Big Slick Big Slick is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post

I mentioned in my OP the second Exception at the end of the rule that states, "If the interference prevents the fielder from catching a routine fly ball, the batter is also out." Well, the bump did not prevent F3 from making the catch. She was able to catch it easily. That's why I was leaning towards this being inadvertent contact.
At the moment of the "bump," you have interference. At the time of interference, you have a dead ball. At the moment of any dead ball, nothing else can happen, including catching a fly ball. Therefore, the fielder is prevented from catching a fly ball, and thus you have two outs. It is of no consequence if the ball happens to land in the fielders glove after you call interference: MD is correct when he says:
Quote:
If it IS interference, it's dead at that instant, and the catch/no-catch never happens.
I believe this same conversation happened last year due to a very similar play in a super regional.
Reply With Quote