View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 03, 2013, 02:01pm
shipwreck shipwreck is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
Question NCAA retired runner

NCAA rule book gives a scenario but I would like to expand on it. R1 on 3rd R2 on 1st. Ball hit to SS who throws to second for a force out. The retired runner interferes with the throw to first. R1 has already scored by the time the interference takes place. Since R1 has already scored, closest runner to home would be the batter/runner, who would be declared out. The run would not count. My question is, how about if the batter/runner was past first base when the interference occurred? The batter/runner would still be the closest to home and declared out, but in this case would the run count? Dave
Reply With Quote