View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 03, 2013, 01:02pm
Rita C Rita C is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Rita, Fed rule 6-1-2b is pretty clear on this: "Any step backward shall begin before the hands come together. The step backward may end before or after the hands come together."

Am I missing something?
Nope. But you and I started umpiring about the same time and we both know that some things are called more stringently than others. The former (retired) varsity coach was yelling from the bleachers that there was nothing illegal.

The next question is: What qualifies as a step? This same young lady's foot would slide back as she put her weight back as she started her motion.

Rita
Reply With Quote