
Thu Mar 28, 2013, 12:49pm
|
(Something hilarious)
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG
That is the portion of the rule that makes plays legal in the NBA but illegal in under NCAA/NFHS rules.
For instance:
A1 gathers the ball with his left foot on the floor. He then steps with his right foot, then his left foot. Is this a legal play? Which foot is the pivot foot.
NBA: This is a legal play. A player is allowed two steps AFTER he has gathered the ball. In this play, the player gathers the ball with the left foot on the floor...steps with his right foot (which is the first step since it occurred after gaining control of the ball), then steps with his left foot (which is the 2nd step). In this play, the right foot is the pivot foot.
NCAA/NFHS: This is a travel. When A1 gathered the ball with the left foot on the floor, then stepped with the right foot, this made his left foot the pivot. He then picks up his pivot foot and places it back on the floor thus making it a travel.
In addition, it it not traveling in the NBA for a player holding the ball to fall to the ground. In addition, a player holding the ball my stand up with the ball as he has no pivot foot until he's standing. It is also traveling to be the first to touch the ball after a field goal attempt fails to the backboard or basket. Finally, a player may not self-pass.
|
Brain...hurts....
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
|