Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives
I could never grasp why the "touching home plate" part is there. If the batter is 3" in front of or behind the plate with a part of his foot still in the box it's OK but if he touches the plate he's out. Doesn't compute.
I think FED thought this up first then NCAA added it.
|
I concur. FED recently prohibited the knee from touching the plate as well. I would love to see a video of the play that resulted in that rule change (they usually result from something that happened on the field).