In no way would I NOT call an out at first in the situation that Rita described.
Except for her "buddy", I don't know anyone else who would either, but it goes back to the fact that no where does it describe a BR's advance to first as a force..
2-24 ART. 1 . . . A force play is a play in which a runner (or two or three runners) loses the right to the base occupied and is forced to advance because the batter becomes a batter-runner.
THEN you have
2-38 ART. 2 . . . Force Out. A force out is a putout during which an
offensive player who is being forced to advance is tagged out, or is put out by a fielder who holds the ball while touching the base toward which the forced runner is advancing.
THEN you have
SECTION 2 BATTER-RUNNER IS OUT
The batter-runner shall be called out when:
(snip)
ART. 2 . . . After hitting a fair ball the batter-runner
is legally put out prior to reaching first base.
OK, where does it tell me how to legally put out a batter-runner?
You do have 8-6-3, but that deals with a runner... not a batter-runner.
SECTION 6 THE RUNNER IS OUT
A runner is out when:
ART. 3 . . . On a force play, a fielder contacts the base while holding the ball,
touches the ball to the base or tags the runner before the runner reaches the base.
Despite what I just wrote, I'll repeat, if I am the umpire.... SHE'S OUT.