Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn
I was wondering the same thing, actually.
The rules says it applies when an infielder can make the play with ordinary effort ... not that an infielder DOES make the play. If F6 can make this play, but F8 can too ... we still have IFF.
|
What it really says is when, in the umpire's judgment, an infielder can catch the fly ball with ordinary effort. The umpire's manual also states that this should be called at the ball's apex. So, if the ball goes up and, IMJ, an infielder can catch that ball with ordinary effort, I make the call, I don't wait for it to come. And, yes, the player's position and posture along with possible help from my partner will be taken into consideration, but again, I'm not waiting for it to come back to earth to make the call.