View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 18, 2013, 12:44pm
MD Longhorn MD Longhorn is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
He said FED rules, so the statement about the minimum award is correct.
True, and I didn't mean to shorthand it that way. I was trying too hard to say it in laymans terms, but I see why you assumed what I meant.

He seemed to be implying the runner should automatically get home - one base beyond the base already acquired... when it was really only (in this case) 2nd base that was already acquired - the minimum in this play being 3rd base. Which he ended up acquiring on his own. The "award" is very often the very same base the runner ends up getting to on their own.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote