View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 11, 2013, 10:12am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekent View Post
In 1 day, I saw 4 crews make 4 different calls on this play and I want to be 100% sure I know the right way to handle it.

A1 goes up for a layup and makes the shot. Attempting to get position for a possible rebound though, A2 shoves B2 as or immediately after the ball has gone through the basket.

Would this be (NFHS rules): 1)no call, 2)technical foul because the ball is dead, 3)basket counts and foul on A2, or 4) basket does not count and foul on A2?

All 4 were done in different games of the same tournament, and all with what sounded like good explanations (although 3 have to be wrong I'm assuming).
1) called if (a) the ball was already through the net (and the contact was not Intentional or Flagrant) or (b) the ball was not through the net yet the contact was not severe enough to be called because no one was placed at a disadvantage since the basket was good and there was no rebound to be affected

2) called if the ball is already through the basket and the contact rises to the level of Intentional or Flagrant.

3) called if the ball is not through the net, but the official needs to get the contact

4) called only if the foul happens before A1 releases the ball.
Reply With Quote