Thread: POI 2003-2004
View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2003, 07:43am
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
You can extend your hands anywhere you want, anytime you want. Just don't make illegal contact when doing so. The reason the rule is stated as such is to make clear that if you put your hands, arms, elbows, etc., out there, you don't own that space in addition to the space over your feet. There is no violation nor penalty listed for extending hands illegally - just for making illegal contact when doing so.

If you move your feet and maintain the block out with your hips, you will be fine regardless of where any part of the rest of your body is because you aren't making contact with any other part of your body. If you don't move your feet, and your arms in their extended postion become all that you contact the oppontnet with, the contact will be deemed illegal if it gives you an advantage (i.e., hinders the opponent from making normal movements). If you make contact but gain no illegal advantage, play on because the your opponent just went around you for a rebound.
So Coach, when are you taking the FED test, hmmmmm? Thumbs up, man.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote