View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 19, 2003, 10:25am
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by WestMichBlue
But if you are going to use "moves to the ball" as a disqualifying criteria, than 1/2" movement says that it is not a foul tip, but a caught line drive.
Technically, perhaps correct, but realistically, as you observe, you aren't going to see it, and if you do, these are movements that fall well within catching the pitch.

What the definition boils down to, for me, is ... was the catcher making a play on the batted ball?

Quote:
And, Baseball doesn't use that dam*ed "not higher than the head" qualifier. It seems as though Softball (NFHS or ASA) is confused when all it needs is the simpler Baseball definition.
I don't really give a horse's patoot what baseball does. My only issue with the "not higher than the batter's head" phrase is too many people (coaches, mostly, but also fans and some umpires) view this requirement as the be-all and end-all of the definition. IOW, if it is not higher than the batter's head, then it must be a foul tip. Baloney.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote