View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 28, 2013, 08:34am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
If both offenders are in a marked lane-space, the second violation is ignored, as in penalty item (2).
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
But they aren't both in marked lane spaces...so the "caveat" does not apply.
While I can see the arguments for both sides in this, by the actual text of the rule, I have to side with Rocky. You can't apply a rule which clearly states, "if both offenders are in a marked lane-space..." when only one of the offenders is in a marked lane space. The fact that the defenders are not there, makes this rule inapplicable to the situation.

Therefore, what we have is more akin to a defender outside the 3pt line committing a violation by entering the 3pt area, then an offensive player in a marked lane space leaving his space too early. That is a double violation.

I'm going with Bob's original answer in post #2.
Reply With Quote