View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 23, 2013, 12:07pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
I have the gather with both feet on the floor...followed by a step with the right foot...so it's relevant IMO.
Show me the definition of "gather"? All we've got is holding the ball or not.

At the point shown below, his dribble had ended by catching the ball in one hand (if he dribbled again after this it would be a carry). It doesn't take two hands on the ball to hold the ball.



The left foot is off the floor making his right foot the pivot when the left foot touches.

To allow the foot movement in this play is just not intended by the rules. It might be fair to say that some, even many, officials might not see it and call it, but it is incorrect to say it isn't a travel.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Sat Feb 23, 2013 at 12:10pm.