View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 16, 2003, 09:12am
WestMichBlue WestMichBlue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
By rule, the runner is legally entittled to return to 1B so the coach is not assisting her, or interfering with the defense. So I can't call an out.

You may have an issue in that the coach's action would automatically turn the runner to the right, thus preventing her from making a mistake by atttempting to 2B, and thus being called out on appeal.

I have an issue with the coach being that far past 1B and near or on the foul line. I've chased coaches out of there before. If I am in "A", under certain situations I may move to foul area to make a call and I don't want to be tangling with, or have my view obstructed by a coach.

As I see it - no out, a few words with the coach to "get back where she belongs, and then congratulate the runner when she returns to 1B" - and play on.

WMB
Reply With Quote